elysemarie's blog

middle and magical

I woke this morning after 16 hours of sleep. Haven’t done that in quite a while, but it felt great. The cats woke me up, meowing their little kitty faces off for breakfast.

Day started with cats and coffee, wheaties and washing dishes, aesop rock and mos def. The house is my own, and I really want a piano to bang it out along, making a racket in my empty stone home with my art that disappears as it is made. It’s mine and mine alone…

I’m trying to live more middle. less worry, less laziness, more productivity, more relaxation time. less arguing, more being.

In work news, I’ve started a new freelance gig as a part time stylist for Anthropologie’s photo web studio. I never thought I would be able to get into this environment without working full time, and I have to say, I’m truly loving it. I’m learning a lot, meeting tons of awesome new people, making friends, and getting paid… well.

What does a stylist do?

In layman’s terms, we make the pictures look pretty. Those perfectly rumpled yet made sheets on Anthropologie’s site? Someone made it do that. The just right bell shape of the skirt on the manniquin? A stylist does that. It’s basically having an obsessive eye for detail and perfection. In a lot of ways, it feels like the most instinctual for me of all the things I’ve done in fashion so far. It reminds me of all the times I played with dolls as a child, perfectly pressing their layered outfits into place, dressing every strand of hair into intricate coiffeurs, pairing together all the perfect accessories, and then doing it for a collection of dolls, so that every single one looked perfect in a setting. It’s almost identical, except instead of history’s petticoats and black dolly mary janes, I’m playing with grown up dresses and mannequins, and models that make magic in the clothes they’re wearing, and it’s the face that a company shows the world and the world eats it up with a spoon.  And it’s simple and easy and busy but fun, with great people in a positive environment. So what is not to love?

A few things I styled:

Absolutely loved this dress, great design!

http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=19920651&catId=CLOTHES-NEW&pushId=CLOTHES-NEW&popId=CLOTHES&navAction=top&navCount=156&color=041&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&isSubcategory=true&subCategoryId=CLOTHES-NEW-DRESSES&templateType=subCategory

I prepped all of this before it went on Brie, the model.

http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=20172839&catId=CLOTHES-PANTS&pushId=CLOTHES-PANTS&popId=CLOTHES&navAction=top&navCount=246&color=024&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&isSubcategory=true&subCategoryId=CLOTHES-PANTS-CROPS&templateType=subCategory

I really love this for going into early spring.

http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=20294989&catId=CLOTHES-NEW&pushId=CLOTHES-NEW&popId=CLOTHES&navAction=top&navCount=156&color=020&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&isSubcategory=true&subCategoryId=CLOTHES-NEW-COATS&templateType=subCategory

I've been thinking a lot about summer, and this seems perfect.

http://www.anthropologie.com/anthro/catalog/productdetail.jsp?id=20435525&catId=CLOTHES-NEW&pushId=CLOTHES-NEW&popId=CLOTHES&navAction=top&navCount=156&color=010&isProduct=true&fromCategoryPage=true&isSubcategory=true&subCategoryId=CLOTHES-NEW-TOPS&templateType=subCategory

In littlewings news, we’ve had a continuous stream of orders so far in 2011, so needless to say, I’ve been very busy. I also lost my camera for a period of time so I’m afraid few process pictures led to blog neglect. However, I did borrow a friend’s camera to take a few pics of this beauty I did for Jennifer.

Styling experience coming in handy here!

Jennifer was the first one to a) order the Roll Clip Egg Satchel on Etsy (http://www.etsy.com/listing/52650036/roll-clip-egg-satchel) and b) to order a bag in the dyed hemp. I was so excited to make this bag, and I’m super pleased with how it turned out. Here are some detail shots:

I love how the hardware is darker blue this time, and how it plays off the hemp color!

back side of bag

Someone called me magical the other day. I think it might be one of the best complements I’ve ever received. I rarely toot my own horn like this, but it really made me think. It reminded me of this time a year ago, when I was reading “The Spell of the Sensuous” and magic was defined as “the things that were perceived but were unexplainable, lying at the edge of our perception.” In that sense, people that do things I could never understand, like program massive computer programs or perform brain surgery, are a bit magical. And I guess to someone who admires but can’t create with their hands, my leather working could be a bit magical. It is making me think about my work a little differently, with another dimension I suppose.  And there is certainly a delightful feeling in knowing that someone thinks you’re magical, ya know?

Middle and Magical. Maybe my 2011 motto?

Time to go make some magic.

This entry was published on February 12, 2011 at 11:19 am. It’s filed under anthropologie, etsy, freelance, inspiration, littlewingsdesigns, natural dyes, organic, philly, prcoess pictures, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

