elysemarie's blog

Muslin 4: Classic Roll Top Bag

I’m going to be honest, I got so involved with this particular piece that I forgot to take pictures for almost the entire patternmaking and construction process. However, this is also a bag I have made before (with some slight variations). The major processes I wanted to explore with this muslin were to give a sample of how my linings will be constructed, and to perfect the use of soling leather for the upper stay. I feel like I achieved both these goals with this particular muslin.

the cut pieces for the lining

assembling the inner cell phone and mp3 pockets. my standard lining also includes a zipper pocket and a hidden zipper pocket in the side seam.

sewing in the zipper pocket

Below is a final pic of the bag, along with the some styling photos I took for fun. I never thought to wrap it around my waist before, but perhaps we are seeing the editorial fanny pack?

final bag, with soling leather top stay/strap

rolled travel bag? the stuff inside isn't going anywhere when it's worn like this, that is for sure!

normal styling, worn as a shoulder bag. The new veg tan tooling leather strap is much more comfortable and neat than the old plastic version.

This entry was published on November 18, 2009 at 4:33 pm and is filed under Senior Collection. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

