elysemarie's blog

Sample 3- Pillow Gusset Wallet

I found this great wallet at an antique shop while I was in Michigan’s Upper Peninsula a month or so ago. It was made by the Knight Leather Co. in Fort Wayne, Indiana.  I want to use this pillow gusset detail in my senior collection work, so here’s a replicated sample based on my studies. Note: this is one piece I refuse to take apart! it’s way too cool, and I actually want to use it. So suck it up cupcakes.

front view

front view

pillow gusset detail

pillow gusset detail

inner pockets and zippered pocket

inner pockets and zippered pocket

After studying the wallet, I made a pattern using my own measurements for how big I want my version to be. I also changed the depth of the pillow gussets from 1″ to 1.25″. I also added a lining to the inner pockets, which will be in a contrasting grey leather to the outer plum I intend to use. Also, the inner parts of the gussets (outside, but not the front and back pieces) will be grey suede, the same shade as the inner leather, adding a textural element.

patterns based on original

patterns based on original

finished sample

finished sample

More pics will follow for this sample, I need to take some more pics of the pattern pieces. I will also be following up on this with a specific sample of how I am creating the lining, since it will be quite altered from the original piece I bought.

This entry was published on October 9, 2009 at 4:25 pm and is filed under Senior Collection. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

